Follow Me

On the backside of this tombstone for Stores Maykes

DSC04942

is the following statement:

Behold and see as you pass by
As you are now so once was I
As I am now so you must be
Prepare to die and follow me.

How does this strike you?  Funny or macabre?  I actually thought it was pretty cool to think about (except for the last two lines), but it creeps other people out!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 06:44:10

    Funny the things people would put on head stones. I think it’s rather cheeky…lol! Or I suppose it could be a way to say, “appreciate life all you can.” :c)

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 20:45:25

    Pam, oooo. Very creepy but interesting, too. Makes you wonder who lies there…

    I’ve been so bad…not enough time to visit blogs much.

    I gotta say I scrolled through your recent posts and I admire your shots. YOU are a great photography and story-teller.

    I miss those days when we had time to read blogs more often.

    Love ya,
    Mare

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 22:25:00

    Old epitaphs are so interesting. I have collected a few over the last couple of years. It seems they were meant to give a moral lesson or good scare to the living. After all, people did die more suddenly and for reasons not understood in the past.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 23:35:50

    Yeeeee-ikes! What the Hell????

    They put it right out there, back in the day huh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

