“The White Woman of the Genesee” at Letchworth State Park

Yesterday we (Mom & brother) went to Letchworth State Park.  As my brother has never been there before, we saw High Falls again, a site I never get sick of seeing:

DSC05680

and the Middle Falls, viewed from the Glen Iris Inn:

DSC05690

DSC05696

We then walked the Mary Jemison trail:

DSC05715

up to the railroad bridge:

DSC05725

and up to the railroad tracks:

DSC05735

those same tracks that my Dad is standing on in Nov of 2006:

100_0238
I took a photo of my Mum and brother near the same spot that my Dad was standing. Oh, how we miss him soooo much.

Hmmm, since when did they start using this configuration of holding the rails down? Something for me to investigate later.

DSC05730

On the way back down the trail I found a log with fungi, moss and lichens:

DSC05744

DSC05746

At the end of the trail, we saw this skull:

DSC05748

DSC05749

After hiking the trail we saw the cabin Mary Jemison built for her second daughter, Nancy, with the Antique Seneca Council House in the background:

DSC05754_crop

DSC05760

DSC05764

Mary Jemison was called Deh-He-Wa-Mis, “The White Woman of the Genesee” or “The White Woman of the Valley.” Here’s some information about her from one of the information panels:

DSC05753_crop

There are old books about her on Google books, and contemporary books can be found on Amazon or at the library.

Here’s a replica of the Viewing Pavilion:

DSC05777

DSC05780

Here’s the bronze statue of Mary Jemison. This statue was cleaned up recently which I heard about when I attended the Archives Week celebration at Genesee Country Village & Museum on October 11, 2006.

DSC05765

DSC05769_

DSC05773_

Next to her statue is a black walnut tree planted by James Shongo, grandson of Mary Jemison ca. 1875.

DSC05774

DSC05775

After this, we drove up to Inspiration Point (reminds me of “Happy Days”). This is an into the sun view of the Portage Bridge, High Falls and Middle Falls, all very hard to see due to the sun:

DSC05793

We then stopped to view Big Bend, view looking southerly:

DSC05806

view looking northerly:
DSC05807

DSC05808

And just as we were leaving the turkey vultures appeared. We saw turkey vultures all day, and they’re hard to capture with my little camera, but here’s a little silouette:

DSC05823

We then went to Gardeau overlook, which is where Mary Jemison lived:

DSC05826

The name Gardeau comes from the Seneca word Gah-Da-Hoh, or “bank in front.”

DSC05829

Soon this valley will be in full color as you can see from this photo taken at the Mt. Morris Dam overlook:

DSC05669

and Letchworth State Park will be very crowded. Stay tuned. We plan on going back there more!  Post leaf-viewing and arts & crafts show crowds, that is.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 15:29:37

    I love posts like this that I can walk along with in my mind. Wish I had been there with you.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 15:36:43

    Thanks Martha. I wish all of my blogging friends could have been there with me.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 06:31:58

    You really “take” us places in your posts Pam! What a lovely tour and what a brave woman Mary was for her day. A beautiful statue of her too. I truly feel as if I’ve been there… :c)

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 19:58:28

    I’m glad you’re able to “go along” with me Jayne! I wish I could post everyday like you, but time is so limited.

    Reply

  5. William S. Stokes
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 18:35:22

    i lived in Mount Morris for eight years from 1944-52. Walked the bed of the Genesee River many times with a neighbor and our dogs. Climbed down, hiked miles, remembered we had to come back, climbed up to the rim and onto the plateau campus of the former tuberculosis hospital. Our free standing staff house is now the administrative offices (I am told) of the county-operated complex.
    Bill Stokes, Lady Lake, FL. (wsswriter@centurylink.net) 3/6/2012

    Reply

Leave a Reply

