One Very Big Ole Tree

I have a love/hate relationship with the silver maple (Acer saccharinum).  I was told they last 50 years and then start getting diseased and hollow.  I have one in my front yard and it is getting eaten alive.  I’ve mentioned it before.  It needs to go, before it gets too hollow.  But I love the leaves and love letting the leaves rot in my compost for my garden.   The limbs on silver maples form a V-shape from the trunk, which makes them very unstable (as opposed to an L-shape which is stable).

But last weekend when we were at Letchworth State Park, when I saw a very old silver maple tree, I fell in love with the tree.  This particular silver maple was planted by William Pryor Letchworth and Glen Iris Landscaper William Webster in 1868.

DSC05703

1868!! Wow! That’s 140 years old!

And check this out! I have *never* seen a silver maple like this, ever! How cool is this?

DSC05704

I mean, can you get over that trunk? I sure can’t. I also love the burl.  And here’s my Mother next to the tree just to show you how huge it is:

DSC05705

I just can’t get over this tree!  Yes, it is wired, and hollow in places, but still, it is very cool!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 19:27:16

    What a pretty picture of your Mom!
    It looks like she’s sitting on a giant’s foot.

    Reply

  2. Linda in Erie
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 01:49:22

    Your mom looks like she is really enjoying herself. I don’t think I have seen a base of a tree quite like that one. What a wonderful old tree.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 06:51:48

    It’s like it has its own personality and footprint. Your mom is glowing in that photo. :c)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

