I Love Fall

Last night I actually got out of work on time and went straight to the Big Field for a refreshing walk.  This after working late for three weeks straight.  They wanted me to do it again this week and I rebelled.  I know, it’s not the best move, but I needed to do it for me.  Someone else can work late for a switch.

I love fall colors and seeds.  I mean, how cool are these seeds:

DSC05952

Or these seeds:

DSC05987

And purple grass:

DSC05985

And purple thistles:

DSC05979

Rosy apples:

DSC05974

Goldenrod:

DSC05975

And a beautiful orange tree:

DSC05962

I love big fat milkweed pods:

DSC05978

I was surprised to see a flock of robins:

DSC05963_

The sun was pretty peeking through the rain clouds:

DSC05989

And as I was leaving, I saw someone put a feather on the fence for all to see:

DSC05994

And I have to keep going out to visit nature everyday, because everything is so whacked out right now. I mean, I made a mortgage payment today to a bank which, when I woke up last Friday, I found out no longer exists.   I can’t think about it.  I must go back outside now.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 19:33:56

    Nature will keep us grounded Pam. I loe your view of what’s around you.

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 19:34:32

    um…that’s love
    😉

    Reply

  3. mary
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 20:40:17

    That’s what I need, Pam. A nice, long walk, crisp air, and time to dawdle.

    You did good.

    Keep at it.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 22:26:36

    Getting outside is taking on a whole new meaning lately, ain’t it?

    I love all the colors…and is that seed a money plant?
    And a turkey wing feather!

    Reply

  5. spookydragonfly
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 05:36:33

    Just browsing and found your blog…I enjoyed your photos. This is a crazy world right now, for sure…I find my “calm” in nature, too. I have two blogs..maybe you would enjoy a visit to my “calm”? Have a good day…maybe you could sneak out a little early?!

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 06:42:23

    Thank goodness we have the outside to distract us a bit Pam. Crisp air to breathe, birds to hear, seeds to see which let us know that life will go on.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 06:50:39

    My favorite time, too Pam. And, I see we notice a lot of the same things. We have had rain or clouds every day this week, but the color is still getting brighter each day.
    Have you had a frost yet?

    Reply

  8. natureheads
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 09:28:47

    Hi Pam,
    Leaves over here in the UK are turning, but different species at different times. Cherry-leaved hawthorns (Crataegus prunifolia) in the Sheepdrove courtyard ar well ahead, while oaks will hang onto their leaves for a long while yet.

    Love your nature articles.

    If you’re ever interested in writing for the Natureheads blog, I’ll send you an invite.

    I’m looking for authors to join in and create something ‘bigger’ than what I can achieve alone! I would not take credit for what you produce – your name would be on everything and you could add a signature link to your own blog here.

    Oh, and you could just ‘copy and paste’ from your nature articles here, so it doesn’t have to take much extra work. I appreciate the hours it takes to put together all these photos, get them ready, etc.

    Keep it up! – J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

