National Feral Cat Day

I saw that it’s National Feral Cat Day on Julie Z’s blog.  I didn’t realize it was coming up, otherwise I would have taken pics of my brother’s cat, who was a feral cat, and is the biggest lover boy around.  The first time I saw him in person, I said he looks like expensive furniture.  His fur is beautiful, but these photo’s don’t really show it.  I’ll have to capture him in photos another day.

019
My brother rescued this feral cat.

024
Showing some of his beautiful fur as he sits as close as possible to my brother.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 12:24:54

    My sister traps feral cats for a program in Southern California. They neuter/spay them, notch their ears for ID that they were neutered and turn they loose again. They keep the mice, gophers and rats under control. Many birds lovers don’t like cats around but I like them. They keep the chipmunks under control so they don’t take all the bird seed. A feeder will be empty in an hour when there are multiple chipmunks. We had a chipmunk eat a big hole through a $1000 porch canvas canopy stored in our garage.

    My sister was told “they don’t make good pets and never really become tame” by the people running the program but she will argue with that. She has the sweetest cats around and they were feral. Your brother’s cat really is beautiful! I am a bird lover and a feral cat lover, what a dilemma. I see both sides.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 19:47:30

    Linda – Me too, it is a dilemma. Ohhh, naughty chipmunks!!

    Reply

  3. jason
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 21:08:33

    Beautiful feline, Pam! I think the photos show that just fine.

    I rescued three feral cats myself. They added to my family while I added to their longevity. To me that’s humane.

    If we’re really going to fret over the invasive species question, the first one we should look at–the most destructive invasive species in the history of the world–is humanity. Unfortunately, I see very few people owning up to that responsibility. Nevertheless, all other considerations are secondary.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 22:05:54

    He’s beautiful. Three of my cats had a feral mother. Kept indoors, they turned out to be well adjusted cats, except for one – Maggie. She always kept her distance. When she needed medicine, she fought and unfortunately I had to have her euthanized when she was 8. The others were great pets!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 08:52:54

    Jason – Very good point about humans being the invasive species. And they keep multiplying.

    Mary – how sad for the one kitty, but glad you could rescue the rest.

    Reply

  6. deejbrown
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 19:48:15

    I have a loose hope that every dedicated cat owner should take on at least one feral cat in their lifetime. They are worth the loving.
    I am a new visitor to your blog–enjoy it very much!
    Di

    Reply

Leave a Reply

