Mount Hope Cemetery, revisited

We went for a quick walk in Mount Hope Cemetery again yesterday (we didn’t have much time, even though I could have spent all afternoon there because the sun felt so good).  Just last week Mount Hope Cemetery was listed as a wildlife habitat.  Screech owls have been found living in the cemetery, and six nesting boxes for the owls have been placed throughout the cemetery.  I’ll be looking for those another day.  Red-tail hawks, turkey vultures and the Kodak peregrine falcons are known to hang around here, too, along with deer, flying squirrels, regular squirrels, bats, etc.  There are also bluebird boxes that we spotted along our walk today.  This is box number 9:

DSC06728

Imagine my delight when we rounded a corner and saw these beautiful Japanese maples:

DSC06715

DSC06720

And from here I spied that the Gannett area has a new monument:

DSC06727

A newspaper boy is on the monument, which is so appropriate, since Gannett founded Gannett Company, Inc., the largest U.S. newspaper publisher, founded in Rochester, NY by Frankin Gannett in 1923.

The yellow leaves on this tree against the blue sky made me want to take a photo of it and then we spied a woodpecker, who the second I spied it went to behind the tree, but if you enlarge this photo, you can see a bit of it. Anyway, the yellow leaves against the blue sky were gorgeous:

DSC06731

This looks like an innocent enough monument, right?

DSC06745

Until I started reading it:

DSC06746

“In the evening of the ninth of November, 1888, the manufactory of The Steam Gauge and Lantern Company, while filled with operatives, was destroyed by a fierce and sudden fire, in which thirty-four lives were lost.
The remains of these six, burned beyond the possibility of recognition, were buried here:
William Birdsey
Alfred Cannon
John Miller
Frank J. Reimes
John Santry
William J. Smith
But God was not in the fire. And after the fire, a still, small voice.”

Of course, I had to look this up, and here’s some of what I found.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 13:11:39

    I really like to walk in cemeteries too. I always feel drawn to them- peaceful. That last monument is just so sad.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:45:57

    I love those Japanese maples. There is a Mount Hope Cemetery in Burlington on Lake Ontario that is frequented by bird watchers. Interesting history.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 07:41:54

    What gorgeous color Pam. And what a sad tribute to those men.

    Reply

  4. jason
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 12:07:52

    Very nice, Pam! The autumn colors are beautiful, but there’s also something about the history tied up in cemeteries that continually beguiles me.

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 21:52:54

    Pam, it’s been a while since I’ve been a regular reader. Now that the days are short, I hope to be visiting everyone more often!

    Your photos are reminding me of the autumn color in MD I’m missing. My Mom lies under a very large maple and oak nearby. By the time I get there, the leaves will have fallen.

    Lovely view.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

