Happy Veterans Day

I used to call my Dad every Veterans Day to wish him a happy day, and I really miss doing that.  But now, I would like to wish every veteran a happy day.  Because you all deserve it.  I have a brother who saw quite a bit of action as a Navy Seal, and he has a very tough time with it. Don’t anyone tell me guys aren’t sensitive.

vetsday08-lo

Veterans Day was originally celebrated as Armistice Day or Remembrance Day.  November 11th is the anniversary of the signing of the Armistice that ended WWI.  Ended on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918.  Armistice Day was eventually expanded to Veterans Day to include all Veterans, not just the WWI veterans.

Here’s the WWI monument in the cemetery where my Dad is in repose:

DSC03827_sl

And in honor of my Dad and all of the other Korean War veterans:

DSC03832_sl

A couple of weeks ago I started taking photos of the various war veterans’ tombstones at Mt. Hope Cemetery. I found the above poster interesting, because I took a photo of the Civil War monument I wasn’t totally happy with, because it has some cool details I wanted to show, but here it is anyway:

DSC06754

And here’s where the WWI veterans lie:

DSC06763

I’m not entirely happy with my Mt. Hope Cemetery photo set of the various war monuments, so I’m going back to take more photos, and will eventually share them here.

Anyways, I wish everyone a happy day!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 11:49:53

    The pictures didn’t show up but thank you for the Veteran’s Day wishes and Happy Veteran’s Day to you, too.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 22:24:37

    Thanks Liza, I hope you had a good day.

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 22:47:12

    Pam, thank you. Your Dad is loving this, you know.

    I called my son-in-love, Billy, who fought in Iraq, and left a message on his cell phone, “Thanks, Billy.”

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 07:54:01

    A beautiful tribute Pam.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

