One HUGE Leaf!

DSC06936
How big do you think this leaf is? It’s hard to tell! When I saw it my eyes just about popped out of my head.

DSC06937
My foot is size 7.5 and it’s still huger than that. Nothing like a Northern Red Oak (Quercus rubrus) leaf.

And yes, I had a professor who hated it that I initial capitalize tree names, but I can’t help it. Here’s not here to mark me off now!

And yes, my pants are stupid with them rolled up.  I hate it when I order pants in my length and they send the wrong ones.  I’m too cheap to pay the postage to send them back so I wear them in the woods.  Or, I could get the sewing machine buzzing.  But that would require time away from being outside.  Or from making a quilt.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 17:04:06

    Holy cow, that’s SOME leaf! :c)

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 23:04:06

    Hokey smokes! That’s HUGE!
    I like your shoes too.

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 23:22:10

    Never seen a leaf so large, Pam! And, dont’ worry about rolling. At 5-1″ I roll arms and legs! LOL!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 09:33:22

    Jayne – LOL!

    Lynne – LOL re: hokey! Shoes are from L. L. Bean and they’re 5 years old and still looking and feeling good!

    Mary – LOL about rolling, Mary!

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 18:59:12

    I just sent you a shot of one I think is the same. Good idea to use your foot to measure. I couldn’t hold my hand out far enough to measure against my hand.

    It may be white swamp oak. That is the closest thing I could find. What do you think?

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 21:42:24

    Sandy – I’ll have to look at my different books again this weekend. I love these large leaves. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

