From Sunrise to Sunset

I left home at 6am yesterday morning heading for Syracuse (for a well deserved day off from the day care to volunteer to work at the Onondaga Historical Association – yes, I’m a big nut, taking off from work to go work somewhere else, but I *love* going to OHA)!  It was completely dark at 6, but slowly I watched a beautiful sunrise at 60mph.

DSC06966

DSC06973

DSC06979

I got to the parking garage really early and I could have parked on a lower level, but I parked on the roof so I could take photos of the surrounding buildings from up high. They have just recently redone the copper on the over 100 year old fourth Onondaga County Courthouse dome, and it looks great!

DSC06986

I love the City Hall, built out of limestone. Looks like it’s dressed for Christmas. You’ll see more of this in the future.
DSC06995

I took this photo of Fayette street looking west from the Fayette Street Parking Garage, just because it was there, and realize just now that I worked in two of the buildings in this photo. The second white one, and the Chase building.
DSC06996

It was still too early to go into OHA
DSC07001

so I waited in my truck and this little cutie came to visit:
DSC07002_

DSC07003_

DSC07004_

DSC07005_
I’m done with the photo session, lady.

Then I realized my Dad worked in this building when it was the New York Telephone Company:
DSC07007

Even though I had my camera in my pocket the entire day, I didn’t take any photos while inside OHA. That’s unusual, but I had things to do. Among them was helping with their Nifty Fifties Toy exhibition which opens next Thursday. Two of the photos in the exhibition are from my grandparents’ color slides and are of my Dad and brother! I’m excited they decided to use them!

On my way out, the Masonic Temple looked really photogenic with all of the lights:
DSC07009

WOW!!  Compare this a photo I took from the fifth floor of OHA back in December of 2006:
2006-12-20-masonictemple-033
Yowsa! What a difference!  It looks beautiful now!!  I love it when people bring an old building back to life.  My Dad used to shoot pool on his lunch hour in this building.  Here’s an old postcard of the temple:
masonictemple

Okay, so I am now back on the roof of the parking garage, and had to take another photo of the new copper dome at:
DSC07015

with the temperature being usually high:
DSC07013

DSC07012
It looks beautiful in every light.

And the sunset was beautiful, too, but I didn’t get too many photos:
DSC07020

I love the silhouette of the leafless trees and buildings as the sun sets:
DSC07026

Goodnight, sun:
DSC07032

And the moon, oh my, I hope you saw it last night, because I didn’t get to photograph it! It was full, low in the sky and very big!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 11:42:21

    It sounds like you had a perfectly wonderful “Pam” day. I’m glad for you.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 11:58:32

    Lynne – Thanks! I haven’t had a perfect “Pam” day in too long. And it was a struggle to get it off, too!!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:44:22

    How neat that you got the perspective in the early morning and then later in the evening. So glad to hear you had such a good day Pam. How cool indeed that they will be using a family photo in the exhibition. :c)

    Reply

  4. Nina
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 12:20:39

    I like the “sunrise at sixty” effect with a bit of a blur.
    Gives a very good feeling of waking and heading out with much to do!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 12:25:51

    Jayne – A good day once in a while is definitely a good thing! I’ll be sharing the photos they decided to use when I visit again Thanksgiving weekend.

    Nina – Thanks, I did have much to do, and really enjoyed doing it.

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 22:09:50

    Pam, you have great buildings in New York. Both historic and new… So nice you remember your Dad’s life in them.

    I still worry about you and that darned camera behind the wheel. Will we ever stop the silliness? :o)

    Mary

    Reply

  7. Linda in Erie
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 00:19:09

    Beautiful sunrise and sunset. The buildings are gorgeous. I love old buildings!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 09:31:48

    Mary – I love the old buildings; unfortunately in the 60’s and 70’s with urban renewal they tore many of the cool ones down.
    No, we will never stop taking photos at high speeds!

    Linda – thanks! I do, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

