Interesting Buildings

Now you all know I love old buildings, but when I saw a post on Confessions of a Preservationist labelled Architectural Eye Candy. . . key to urban redevelopment? I had to read on.  And near the bottom of the post was a link to Village of Joy‘s 50 Strange Buildings of the World.

It was fun looking through this list, and then I happened upon “The Egg,” No. 42 on the list, The Egg at the Empire State Plaza in Albany.

800px-TheEgg1

This building has always fascinated me, along with the whole plaza.   We used to see absolutely wonderful fireworks in this plaza.  And what’s cool is as you’re standing in the modern plaza, you are looking at a wonderful old building, the State Capitol.  Back to The Egg, which is officially called The Empire Center at The Egg.  It houses two theatres.  And even though I lived in Albany for a while, I don’t think I ever went inside The Egg.  But I really never thought of The Egg as “strange.”

It was fun looking through the rest of this this list, and then I continued to part II.  And in this part II I found another building I am very familiar with, and which I didn’t think was strange.  It is No. 37, The Museum of Play in Rochester, NY, whose full name is Strong National Museum of Play.  Wow, now I’m going to have to go photograph it.  And the part of the building which looks like Butterfly Wings, too.

What buildings are you familiar with on these lists?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 10:33:46

    Love cool and unusual buildings. But then again, I married an architect and if I didn’t like cool and unusual buildings, I would be in a sad place! 🙂 -llm.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 21:44:37

    LOL Liza! Glad you like the cool and unusual buildings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

