Thanksgiving Day

We spent Thanksgiving Day in PA at my Aunt and Uncle’s home. Believe it or not, it was nice to get out of the snow for a little while (it’s too early for snow here)! When I walked in to their house this painting caught my eyeballs:

DSC07119

In which I asked my Uncle “where’d you get the painting of Cooperstown?” And his response? “You are the first person from New York to recognize this is Cooperstown!” It is painted by their next door neighbor who used to live in New York:

DSC07102
(I don’t remember her first name).

She also painted this one, which is across the street in Cooperstown from the one above:

DSC07072

Later I saw this old plate hanging which came from my Grandmother’s home.  This plate is of the South Onondaga Methodist Church:
DSC07064_

This is the church as it looked in April of this year:
DSC03860_sl

I also love this Grandma Moses counted cross stitch piece that my Aunt stitched:
DSC07067

We were outside Thanksgiving evening looking at the landscape and I noticed the sunset was going to be gorgeous:
DSC07144

DSC07169

DSC07181

DSC07202

DSC07223

DSC07238

DSC07246
Ohhhh, ahhhh. . .

I also loved seeing my Grandmother’s needlework around my Aunt’s home:
DSC07182

DSC07069

Thanks to my Aunt and Uncle for the fond memories!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 11:58:05

    What a wonderful trip. That last sunset picture was stunning! The needlework was impressive, too. Awesome!

    Reply

  2. Linda in Erie
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 12:24:09

    I love the sunset photos. Very pretty. I used to go to many estate and household sales and look for the old needlework items. But now days dealers get first crack at everything the day before the sales and very little good stuff is left. I think the paintings are wonderful. I’m glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving trip.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 18:40:13

    Those paintings are lovely Pam. Almost as lovely as the sunset you captured so very beautifully. Sunsets can never be captured the way we see them as it’s such a fleeting moment in time. Glad you all had such a good day. :c)

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 20:31:59

    What a lovely home. I know a family in Cooperstown.

    That sunset sequence is wonderful!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Pam!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 11:50:04

    Liza – It was, thanks.
    Linda – Thank you! I never get to see the sunrise or sunset at my home so this was a treat!
    Jayne – They are, and thank you! I agree, it’s hard to capture the sky as I see it.
    Mary – it is, I’m very happy for my Aunt & Uncle. Happy Thanksgiving Mary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

