Ohhh, Ahhh, over the Niagara Mohawk Building in Syracuse

As I was driving up Franklin Street Thursday night I saw yet another one of my favorite buildings dressed up for Christmas.

DSC07378
This is the most beautiful, art deco building I’ve seen, the Niagara Mohawk building in Syracuse. My Grandpa used to work here when it was Niagara Hudson and then Niagara Mohawk.  It will always be the NiMo building to me, but the company is now called National Grid.

352 - Niagara Mohawk Building Detail - 300dpi
Spirit of Light on the same NiMo building, from the Onondaga Historical Association Photo Store #352

And I’m sorry I haven’t been around visiting your blogs!  Hopefully Monday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 00:42:14

    Those are just awesome buildings! I really love that last one. Art Deco is one of my favorite styles.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 00:04:03

    Wow! We don’t have buildings like that in Charlotte.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

