Still Redecorating!

Wow, okay, I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in so long.  And I can’t believe we haven’t finished decorating yet, but we squeeze it in when we can. So here’s the area where the Christmas tree was.

DSC07936
Scott found a dead tree and we decorated it with birds and berries. We’ll be adding his toboggan this week. And another old fashioned lamp, like the one in this photo:

DSC07937

Most of the pieces of the outfit on the mannequin Scott got this week from an older couple who had these clothes in their basement from their ancestors. The skirt is so silky, and the burgundy and black tops are velvety. Imagine having clothes from your ancestors. Our family gives all clothes away when someone passes away.  I actually just have one shirt from my Dad because I just had to have it.

DSC07938
We had some problem with this woman’s boobs. They were too big for the tops, so we had to add a contemporary but old-fashioned looking blouse.

DSC07939
The slip is peeking out at the hem. I should have taken photos of us when we were assembling this to show you all of the crap that is underneath this skirt – ouch! Maybe when we disassemble it. Anyway, it required our four hands to just make it come together!

This is one set of bookcases decorated with skaters on the Erie Canal:
DSC07935

to simulate the real skaters that used to skate on the Erie Canal:
363 - Cl Sq E - Lift Bridge #1 - 300dpi
Photo courtesy of Onondaga Historical Association

I realize I should take close-ups, but I was taking photos in-between dealing with a bunch of excited young girls.  Some of the buildings will be lit up hopefully by the time I go back to work!  Stay tuned for more!  We have Black History Month and Valentine’s Day decorations we’re working on.  Imagine, before I got there, at this time of year these areas were all. . . blank and boring.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 23:27:28

    Very neat old clothes.I don’t know hoe they didn’t passout wearing all those layers. I’m keeping a vintage Hawaiian shirt (surfer shirt) of my dad’s. It has such pretty colors. He says he doesn’t even remember having it. It’s been in his closet for 60 years! Your decorating looks really nice. Great job!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 23:40:34

    The authenticity is very cool. I can’t believe women wore so much. Yuk. I don’t even like wearing a bra.

    The decorating is great – thanks to you, Pam. What is the main focus of your job? If it’s interior decorating, you’re the perfect match!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 07:32:27

    Some great ideas Pam! I know they are so thankful to have you there. :c)

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 22:21:00

    You never know when a mannequin’s boobs are going to be a problem.

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 00:19:58

    Great job, Pam! You are so creative. Too bad your creations are displayed for such a short time. I hope your clientele (and your employer) appreciates what you have done to brighten up the place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

