Rules of the Road

Since I’m doing quite a bit of driving lately, I have noticed certain repeated driving behaviors over the past 1.5 months.  I’m sure I’m a pain in the rear to other drivers, but let me tell you what irks me:

1.  This is number one for a reason.  People that pull out in front of me when I’m going 60, and they don’t figure out where the accelerator is.  Ever.  So I have to risk my life to pass them, just because they couldn’t wait two more seconds for me to go by.  I call them BUDGERS.  The kids that used to BUDGE in line at school, are now budging on the road.

DSC07927

2.  If I can’t see your headlights when we’re stopped at a light, you are way to close to my vehicle’s rear.  You’re not invited into the back end of my vehicle.

3.  Riding on my rear end does not make me speed up.  It does the opposite.  Because I want you to pass and get away from me.

4.  Passing me then going slower than me just is stupid and rude.

5.  If you have a little car and it’s snowing, call in sick, cancel your appointments, or whatever.  Just stay the heck home.  Going 20mph in a 55mph zone is very dangerous to people who have vehicles that are made for snow in Upstate New York.

DSC07880

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but these are the ones on the top of my brain.  Anything you’d like to add?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 07:35:15

    Oh, I absolutely hate people riding my bumper and have been known to pull off the road in odd places just to let them whiz by me. I sometimes think it surely makes them pause and realize that they are in too big of a hurry.

    Reply

  2. Linda in Erie
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 11:10:03

    I hate people that change into my lane ahead of me just before they get to a red light.That takes away my room to stop.

    Reply

  3. jason
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 13:10:40

    I’m with you, Pam! You hit the nail on the head five times in a row.

    And the photos are just lovely. They feel so quiet and comforting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

