Church Bells

One of the things I really enjoy about working in the location where I do are the church bells.  I *love* *Love* *LOVE* clocks with pendulums that chime.  And I love church bells.  I don’t take these church bells for granted, at all.

South of where I work is the Church of the Immaculate Conception which starts out with the Winchester Chimes in a nice slow pattern.

030427columbuscircle
Church of the Immaculate Conception on the left.

DSC03296
Church of the Immaculate Conception

040117InteriorStMarysChurch
Interior. This postcard doesn’t do it justice. It’s absolutely beautiful on the inside.

2007-08-18 DSC01768
Church Entrance doors.

North of where I work is St. Paul’s Episcopal Church with its fast bell.

040119stpaulschurch
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

DSC03086
Steeple

Yesterday I took a video (I started out holding the camera wrong) with the camera looking south towards the Church of the Immaculate Conception.  And then St. Paul’s starts, and I whiz the camera up north, then it finishes and we go back to the Church of the Immaculate Conception.

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1841037&dest=-1]

Along with the church bells,  I love hearing all of the birdies in the background.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 13:57:53

    Those old churches and chimes are lovely. They couldn’t begin to build anything like those churches today. It would just cost too much. I don’t think we even have craftsmen that could do it. I bet the inside is just gorgeous.

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 21:17:09

    I love church bells too. A few of the older ones around here play carillons- multiple church bells that play hymns at noon and 6PM..

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 21:24:50

    I think I’ve said this before but you have the best-looking buildings. Churchs are always the most ornate and beautiful structures and the sound of church bells sometimes gives me chills.

    Reply

  4. Liza Lee Miller
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 23:11:15

    I love church bells, too!

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 11:47:11

    My daughter is office administrator (aka church secretary) where I once used to work. Since then our church installed a carillon. And my daughter has the privilege of hearing it each day around noon. It plays a hymn appropriate to the time of the season of the church year. She is so lucky to hear it each day; church bells have always given me a feeling of tranquility. You are fortunate, too, Pam. Church bells are so lovely to hear; and those churches near you are no exception. Their architecture is lovely, too.

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 17:44:49

    Dueling church bells! I love it! So pretty!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 07:40:07

    I love the sound of bells, and the beautiful old churches with bell towers. My husband just found out that the big old Catholic church in the French Canadian border town where he spent his teen years is not being used anymore because of costs. So sad, but understandable in his economy.

    Reply

  8. Rondi
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 20:34:27

    That was really beautiful…both to look at and to hear. Quite lovely!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Syracuse City Hall “Bells” « Nature Woman

Leave a Reply

