The 60’s, Out of the Mouth of Babes. . .

Central New York History day is coming up this Saturday, and while I chose not to attend (volunteer vs. make money, guess which one I picked), I have been helping Scott get ready for it.  One of the categories is papers that young people write.  This one paper said something like this, ‘I read a book about 1968, and now I totally understand the 60’s.’

Okay.

Really?

I *lived* through it, albiet as a young child, and I still don’t get it.  Could someone please explain it to me?  Thank you very much.

1963-03-004
My older brother and me. This is scanned from a really lousy slide, but it expresses well how I feel about the 60’s, a very scary, strange and psychedelic decade.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 00:01:47

    That’s one trippy photo.
    Duuuude.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 06:35:50

    It was definitely a time of transformation… in an in your face way, no less! SO much angst against the establishment. Egads.

    Reply

  3. Liza Lee Miller
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 01:03:51

    Love that photo. Psychedelic, indeed. Yea, I don’t get the 60’s much myself, I guess.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 20:15:30

    I agree! I do remember the sixties very clearly. I was approaching my teens during some revolutions! No one can understand the 60’s completely. Not even those who lived through it’s psychedelic funk…

    Reply

  5. endment
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 15:56:10

    Your photo is very reminiscent of the 60’s
    I do remember them very well – perhaps better than what I had for breakfast today. My 60’s were so different from the rest of the world even though we were on a college campus – the people I knew were too busy getting degrees and having children to protest every day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

