Oh My, It’s So Much Fun!

I *forgot* how much fun it is to have a camera that can zoom into the nose hairs of anything two miles away.  Or at least birds high up in trees.  I heard Red-Winged Blackbirds calling high from trees around the field tonight:

DSCN0009_crop

DSCN0064_crop

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1911283&dest=-1]

I *know* these photos & videos are nothing special, but these birds are very high in the tree, and I used full zoom, and I’m not used to having to stay very still yet. I’m still excited to be taking birdie photos, once again!

I rounded a corner and heard a loud bird call from high up, as if to say “what about me?” A Pileated Woodpecker!

DSCN0016_crop2

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1911309&dest=-1]

To welcome in spring, it just *had* to snow here last night. This is what’s left after a day of sunshine:
DSCN0014

This photo is so cool, except for one thing, the stupid boat:
DSCN0065

How the heck did this milkweed fluff survive the winter?
DSCN0066_crop

Yeah, I wish I were this tall and skinny, well not that tall, but I’ll take the skinny:
DSCN0067

Not for nothing, I know these photos are nothing special, but I’m so excited to be able to zoom once again with a non-DSLR camera. I have a lot to learn, I need to get the macro down among everything else, but it’s so much fun!

Oh, and it’s a Nikon Coolpix P90.  I”m in total love so far.  Next logical step, a Nikon DSLR.  Someday.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 21:53:06

    Pam, you’re wrong. These pix are ALL special!!
    The barn is amazing (except for the stupid boat!)
    My favorite is your shadow.

    So glad you’re happy with your new camera. I can feel and see your joy.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 22:00:09

    Aw, thanks Lynne! I love the barn, and I take photos of it every time I walk around the field. I’ll have to capture it when they move that boat to the lake (which should be soon).

    Reply

  3. Linda in Erie
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 00:03:06

    I got the Sony H50 that zooms pretty good but it can’t compare to the DSLRs with the huge lenses but then we don’t have to carry heavy lenses around. I’d like to advance someday to DSLR, too, but the cost is just too much to justify right now and then I’d have to learn to use it. When I can’t make something out in the distance, I’ll sometimes take a photo on full zoom and then enlarge it on the LCD screen and see what it is. Almost like having binoculars with you.

    Your photos are great. I, too, love the barn (minus the boat) and the milkweed fluff.

    Reply

  4. jason
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 09:00:15

    Very cool, Pam! Congrats on the new camera. You’re already taking some great shots with it.

    All of these are great, but I do most like that barn picture–sans the boat as Lynne and Linda pointed out. I mean, who parks a new boat right next to a beautiful old barn like that?

    I’m shooting with a dSLR and confirm Linda’s comments: The camera’s great and can really capture some dynamic images, but the downside is that it’s not point-and-shoot easy. You have to have the right lens for the shot, and you have to have it on the camera at the right time or risk losing the shot while you switch lenses. And that on top of generally getting out of the automated modes and learning how to use the manual modes–for best quality. Still, I wouldn’t trade it, although I’m thinking of buying a new P&S just to have something simple that can go with me all the time.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 09:02:44

    There are certainly advantages and disadvantages to both. I love having the zoom capabilities with focus, yet, like everyone said, it’s bulky and cumbersome to carry around for any amount of time. Congrats on the new camera Pam! Can’t wait to see what you create! :c)

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 20:14:35

    We all have to have those times out enjoying nature like this! I love my DSLR but once again use my point and shoot all the time! I find myself having both with me normally!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

