Macro Challenged

I am so macro challenged with this camera.  I will practice until I get it though!

DSCN0077
Daffodil leaves!! Yay! Even though it’s only 30 degrees out today, soon there will be daffodil flowers!

DSCN0083
The focus is not on the crocus flower, but I had to show it to you anyway!! I do love the fact I can flip the screen up so I don’t have to lie on my stomach to get these photos.

DSCN0084
Lily leaves – soon there’ll be lily flowers!

DSCN0085
Shagbark Hickory twig, with too much sunlight, but I’m not complaining about the sun.

DSCN0086
I wanted to get the end, but instead it focused on needles further down. Okay, I’ll take the hint and back off.

DSCN0086_crop
I love the detail it captures, even though it wasn’t what I was looking to get.

Practice makes perfect, right? And I need lots of it. I *will* get this camera’s macro feature down. Any hints would be greatly appreciated!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iheartfilm
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 16:11:47

    I’m guessing this is a point-and-shoot, but nevertheless, my advice would be to use a tripod. Macro isn’t really supposed to be done handheld.

    Chris

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 18:10:31

    I have a Nikon Coolpix S10. With the macro on I focus from a bit further distance, then move closer and refocus. That seems to work. Sometimes I put my hand next to the object, focus, hold the shutter down to fix that focus then move my hand away.
    I look forward to your macro flower shots!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 19:01:17

    Thanks Lynne! I’ll try your two methods.
    I have to get the macro down before the flowers really come out in full force!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 21:37:48

    Those are okay! What are you complaining about!
    When I am doing macro, if the part I want isn’t in focus, I back up a tiny bit and crop later when I upload. It’s called cheating.
    Practice DOES make perfect with macro! I just love that you have a new camera to play with!

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 21:52:53

    Practice Practice Practice!

    Reply

  6. Linda in Erie
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 00:09:32

    Your camera is taking very nice picture! I didn’t know those pine needles had those little rows of dots on it. Very interesting.

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 06:47:32

    I’m certainly not the macro queen, but the one thing I did learn is that if you are shooting that close, you just need to surrender and use a tripod or something on which to put the camera to take the shake factor out of the mix! :c)

    Reply

  8. jason
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:09:49

    Definitely a tripod helps, Pam, both with macro and telephoto shots. Also, try shooting with a higher f-stop (something like F8 to F11, but not much higher than that). One thing P&S cameras do with macro photos is use a smaller f-stop than what’s usually needed, so see if you can grab a bit more focus by narrowing the aperture a bit.

    But as others have said, I agree that these pictures are quite engaging. Especially that last shot: beautiful and enlightening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

