In Honor of The Man That Was My Dad

Two years ago today my Dad was taken from us and actually saved from having to endure these tough economic times that would have probably driven him crazy.  While I’m thankful for him that his life on this earth is done, I’m still very sad for my family and myself.  I will *never* get over not having him to talk with anymore, and to get a teddy bear hug from.

While I wished I could have been with my Mom while she visited where he’s buried today, it would have just made me more sad.  Work does help to forget what’s going on in my personal life, thankfully!

Everyone would kill me if they knew I posted this photo, but the story is a beautiful homemade pie was made for my Dad on Father’s Day who was a major pie lover, but we forgot to bring plates.  So I said just use the plastic bags and napkins and eat it with your hands.

11June2006 Palmyra 046
He always wore the SU hat I bought him when I graduated, because he was proud I got my engineering degree.

My Dad loved life. Seriously. He embraced it like there was no tomorrow. He went to the Gambrinus Brew Fest with me at OHA. He loved OHA, he loved going there with me. He loved talking to the guy that brought his Franklin car for the Fest. Like I wasn’t even there. But I photographed the moments. And I’m glad I did.
100_0204

He and my Mom asked me to climb this bank to see if you could still walk behind the falls at Tinker’s Falls. And they were enjoying the beauty of the place while I did:
MD06 024

Yesterday my Mom gave me the rest of his photo albums from when he was growing up. And I haven’t been able to look at them yet. I will after this week is done with.

1974-09-012
My Dad: He dearly loved his wife and his children, and we all still dearly love him. And that’s just the way it is.  Gotta love those styles from the seventies, huh?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 19:41:35

    Family losses are heartbreaking. Your especially close and loving relationship with your Dad is still there even if the hugs are only in your memory.

    {{{{hugs}}}}

    Reply

  2. Linda in Erie
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 00:13:11

    Your dad must have been a wonderful man. I’m thankful I lugged my large video camera around to our family gatherings years ago. Now I have wonderful videos of my mother that has passed. When I sit down and watch them, she is with me again. We always do have the memories.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 06:54:34

    I can’t believe it’s been two years Pam. What a beautiful tribute to your dad. Hugs to you my friend.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 09:09:15

    I like this tribute to your Dad, Pam. I think with the tears you shed, you are beginning to smile about him more often. Yay!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 10:19:41

    All I can say is that I KNOW and UNDERSTAND.
    Love ya, Pam.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 10:22:02

    It is so hard to think that it has been two years now. Wonderful tribute to your dad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

