Letchworth State Park – The Train

Yesterday we went to Letchworth State Park.  It was cold but the sun was shining.  It felt really good to get away from the burbs to relax and clean out my lungs with some cool, fresh air!  While we were waiting for other people to arrive, we saw a train go over the Portage Bridge.  Not that I’m at Letchworth that much, but I’ve never seen a train go over this bridge.  It was cool, yet kind of scary, too, being so close to it.  I love the sound of trains on every level.

DSC08808

DSC08810

DSC08812

DSC08813
Too bad the box cars have to be subject to the people who think graffiti is so cool.

DSC08815

Can you hear the train in your head?
DSC08816

DSC08817

Well, you don’t need to try to imagine what it sounded like.   Here’s a video I took.

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1998166&dest=-1]

Thanks to my Dad for my love of trains.  For family outings when I was a child, one of the places he used to take us was to the DeWitt train yard.  Really.  It was very cool there.

More on Letchworth later!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura K
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 18:38:45

    Some of the best graffiti I’ve seen has been on the sides of boxcars. Unfortunately, not all of it is done for its artistic value.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 06:59:56

    Sam enjoyed seeing these photos Pam. Another train buff! :c)

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 08:29:20

    Laura – isn’t that the truth?

    Jayne – that’s right! I forgot Sam loves trains, too! I was so excited when I saw this one coming I hopped right out of the car!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Letchworth State Park « Nature Woman

Leave a Reply

