Samuel Forman’s 1812 Home

This is one cool old home, built in 1812 by Samuel Forman, located on Seneca Turnpike in Syracuse:

DSCN0299_

It is across the street from Bill’s Inn Fish Fry, where my Dad used to buy fish for us when we were kids, because it was his favorite fish fry. I’ll talk about Bill’s Inn another day. But for now I’ll say, on Saturday night after work, we go there and eat, and I sit facing the old Samuel Forman home across the street. Just because it is one cool, old home:

Samuel Forman House

Samuel Forman House Entrance

Samuel Forman Info

Samuel Forman House Front-Rear

Hmmm, I wonder if we could take a field trip to this home. I’m going to have to find out. Because the floor plans at the Library of Congress website sure make it look very interesting on the inside.  And I’d like to see what’s behind that oval window.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    May 19, 2009 @ 09:05:25

    I love your historic posts. That is a great old house. I’m going to have to check into the Library of Congress for house plans. I didn’t know they had those on record.

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    May 19, 2009 @ 13:13:29

    I like your historic posts too. Your joy shines through!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    May 20, 2009 @ 06:34:56

    There is just nothing like the charm and mystery of an old, old home like that is there? :c)

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    May 21, 2009 @ 10:12:11

    It is pretty! The drawings came up before the photo, and I was expecting it to be brick.

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    May 21, 2009 @ 10:58:14

    Pam, is the building presently occupied? Does the Forman family still own it? It sure would be interesting to learn more about the history of that family and the house. I like that oval window, too. It seems like it would have been quite an expense to have that shape of window in one’s home. Old homes are so cool, so full of history.

    Reply

  6. godw1nz
    May 21, 2009 @ 23:01:22

    I love your blog. I too am from Upstate NY…Seneca Falls, Waterloo, TYRE. I grew up in Tyre, just outside of Waterloo/SF. Now I live in Virginia. Your blog has made me a little homesick! I LOOOOOve your photographs! Check mine out at http://www.godw1nz.wordpress.com. I just did a little history lesson on Waterloo too. That’s how I came across yours. Neat! Blessings, Donna

    Reply

  7. Mary Sutterby [mom]
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 05:59:35

    Hi, I am from the SF Tyre area also and the mom of Donna , blog address godw1nz etc.. I was just looking around this morning and found your info and pictures on the Forman home. It would be interesting to take a tour through it. This is a neat posting, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

