Moving the Archives – The Start

Ralph, one my volunteers extraordinaire, and I were in the archives today getting ready to start moving it from the fifth floor to the second floor.  I was thinking we had until the end of June.  The boss showed up as I was telling Ralph what the plan was and asked me if we could have it moved by June 15th.  I told him “we shall try!”  We’re talking OHA has been around since 1863, so this is quite a bit of stuff to move!!  I didn’t bring my camera to work today, so no pics of the start of our move, but here are some of the pallet shelves we’re using in our new space:

DSC03847
Floor to ceiling the uprights are 12 feet high.  They just barely fit in the room, but they *do* fit and climbing the movable stairs to the top is a little scary, but I’ll get used to it.

DSC03841
The movable stairs are shown in the left of this photo.

We got most of rows 1 through 3 of the old archives moved and placed.  With tons more to go.  But we *will* get there!  Then there’s the library.  And the incoming Syracuse China archives.  Needless to say, I am *very* busy at work, and I love it!

P.S.  I’ll be decorating the walls with some old photos, well, because there’s tons to choose from and there’s so many cool ones and I just love old photos!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    May 29, 2009 @ 06:35:15

    What a sense of accomplishment THAT will be once you are done! Be careful on that ladder!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 09:00:15

    Thanks Jayne. It will be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

