Sonnenberg Gardens

On Labor Day we went to Sonnenberg Gardens. I love my blog because I was able to look up the last time I went to Sonnenberg Gardens, and it was over two years ago. That’s just wrong. I usually go at least once a year, if not more.

It’s always fun to start with the trial gardens. I didn’t get the names of anything, just photos:
DSCN0829

These are so cool – some kind of ornamental kale:
DSCN0833

The beds in front of the conservatory are beautiful, as always:
DSCN0835

DSCN0880

We went into the Cactus House and saw tons of cactii, but I won’t bore you with all of the photos, just this little one with red fruit:
DSCN0842

We moved on into the Orchid House, and I will bore you with a post of the flowers later:
DSCN0843

This year, among other things, I focused in on all of the statuary that we saw:
DSCN0848

They had a special Hydrangea House display by Wayside Gardens:
DSCN0877

I love hydrangeas:
DSCN0876

DSCN0878

A beautiful lily in the Japanese Garden:
DSCN0906

Some beautiful lichen on a rock:
DSCN0922

I don’t remember this statue being cleaned up last time I was at Sonnenberg:
DSCN0923

DSCN0924

This is what is above the statue:
DSCN0930

DSC04627

I also don’t remember this one being cleaned up:
DSCN0926

I love symmetry:
DSCN0950

We used to be able to walk under this one:
DSCN0968

The Ice House. Have I mentioned I love my wide-angle lens?
DSCN0974

This same photo taken with a regular camera:
DSC04640

The Carriage House:
DSCN0995

I love being able to capture the Italian Gardens without having to stitch photos together:
DSCN1031

Elevator in the really dark foyer which is as wide as this door – ack!
DSCN1037

Ohhh, ahhh, more beautiful statuary:
DSCN1039

DSCN1038

More cool symmetry:
DSCN1043

And just when I was getting ready to take an awesome photo of the entire house, my battery decided it was done, so this was taken with a regular camera:
DSC04652

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 06:42:59

    What a gorgeous place Pam! Thanks for taking us along. Julie Z would be in HEAVEN in that orchid room!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 19:53:42

    You’re welcome, Jayne! I thought of Julie Z when I was in there. I love not only the beauty, but the smell of the place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

