Always Interesting – Today, the LONGSTREET Family

I love helping other people with their research at OHA, because sometimes I come across my own family, and I make a mental note to stay after work on a Sat or Sun to look through the information.  This past week I was looking for something, and came across some nice photos of my great-great grandmother’s sister’s husband and child.

img297
Cabinet photo of Byron Longstreet, son of Dr. James Oliver Longstreet and Emily Victoria Seaver
Photo courtesy of Onondaga Historical Association

I love carte de visite and cabinet photographs.  I have a large, unidentified daguerreotype that was handed down through my family to me.  I thought perhaps it may be these two, and now I can do a side-by-side comparison and see if this may be possible.

img299
Cabinet photo of Dr. James Oliver Longstreet.
Photo courtesy of Onondaga Historical Association.

img300
Imagine my surprise when I looked through these photographs and saw names I recognized!

img301
Dr. James Oliver Longstreet
Photo courtesy of Onondaga Historical Association.

Dr. James Oliver Longstreet is also the son of my Great-Grandmother’s aunt. The LONGSTREET surname is a famous one in Onondaga County, and someday (after hours) I’ll do the research into it (there are broken links when clicking on Longstreet due to Ancestry taking over Rootsweb).  So much to do, so little time!  Oh, and I have other stories to tell.  It will take time to gather the info!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 21:45:24

    That’s amazing. There was a lady in my Delaware neighborhood who worked at the Delaware State Archives and wow did she give me a tour. She was one of the people who did the actual preserving of paper, documents… She also knew a lot about people of DE and it’s history. Just like you, Pam!

    Reply

  2. Jayne
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 06:36:31

    How fun Pam! I do hope you can find more about your own family history.

    Reply

  3. jason
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 10:39:16

    That is such a cool discovery, Pam!

    Reply

  4. laurie
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 22:24:01

    That is very cool! I love surprises like that!

    Reply

  5. sarah in the woods
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 22:06:39

    How neat to find pictures of your own family! Must be a very interesting job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

