The View From My Dad

Saturday we went to visit the cemetery where my Dad and his parents are “resting.” We like to keep their tombstones very clean – so clean that they sparkle in the sunshine. Unfortunately the people that mow don’t know about the concept of mulching, but instead let the grass go flying all over all of the stones. Which is causing intense problems for many of the stones there. And which is why we clean our family’s stones quite often. Anyway, we totally *love* the view from where my Dad and his parents are lying.

DSC09432
This is looking up at where we grew up – at the top of the trees in the middle where the little jag is, is where we grew up. And we could see for literally miles from up there, out to the deep glacially cut valleys and steep hills.

DSC09433
West of where we lived, looking north, at the glacial hills and valleys. We simply love this land, because it is deep part of us.

There’s many other views we could have captured, but we were really hungry and craving some Bill’s Fish Fry (yes, I know, bad for the body), which was my Dad’s favorite fish dinner.

DSC09437
The view from where we sat inside Bill’s. This view has changed over the years, and I wish we had digital cameras when we were kids so we could do the comparison of past with present. My little bebe is sitting to the left. It needs a bath, and will be getting one today.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 13:12:25

    I’ll be heading out to the cemetery as soon as I’m over the crud. It’s two years today since my Mom passed. I find visits to the graves to be a comfort- especially if I have something weghing on my mind.

    Your Dad’s view is lovely.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:31:10

    Lynne, hope you get over the crud soon. Two years for your Mom?? Oh my, time goes so fast. You wouldn’t want to listen to my brother and me at the cemetery. I feel bad if anyone hears us. We just let it all hang out over my Dad’s body. It really is cathartic.

    Reply

  3. Jayne
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 06:51:44

    That *is* a lovely view Pam. Wow…. I can’t believe Lynne’s mom has been gone two years. Love and hugs to you both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

