What I Miss

I spent a lot of time in the car on my day off due to a traffic issue on the highway, and listened to “Whatever” where they were asking “what do you miss from years gone by,” and I couldn’t really think of anything, except to be a kid without the huge adult responsibilities, but I hated being a kid because I grew up when parents were really tough on their kids.

Anyway, I just came up with what I miss.  I miss eating whatever the heck we wanted to, and eating whatever we wanted to really didn’t include any junk food except an occasional half-moon cookie or ice-cream.  We ate really good and we ate everything whole, as in whole milk, cheese, etc.   My Mom and I baked bread and cookies and pies and nobody was obese.  We ate three squares, and my parents allowed us to eat whatever we wanted to after school.

1970-12-008
At my grandparents’ home. Wow, it sucks to think three people sitting at this table are gone from us.

So what happened? People told us, don’t eat fats, don’t eat sugars, don’t eat this, don’t eat that, here have this fake “sugar,” fake this, fake that. When I was kid we did not sit around the house playing computer games, txting, watching TV and whatever else. We were *very* active. I know there’s more that’s happened, but let me just say, I miss being able to cook and eat the way we used to.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 07:50:43

    It is amazing isn’t it? We ate good food, but we were much more active then. The good old days…

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 18:26:17

    The same with my family, Pam. We had a large garden, and all kinds of fruit growing on the property. We baked something everyday, too. Mom usually had something ready when we got off the school bus in the school season, and in the summer the kids baked.

    I still cook a lot, but I exercise all the time, too. Today, instead of walking with weights in the cellar (winter activity) I went walking in the deep snow for half an hour. Do you get the chance to get out, or is it late by the time you get home? I know you have further to drive now.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 20:14:51

    Jayne – The good old days, for sure! When there was no battling the fat because of the activity!

    Sandy – This sounds like my family, too. While we were eating, if we wanted more of a particular vegetable, my Mom would go out and pick more for us. I loved veggies when I was a kid.

    Unfortunately, right now I don’t get a chance to get out, but I hope to change that soon. Driving all of the time is a big drag!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

