Snowed In

I got up at 4:30am to get ready for work and saw that my road wasn’t plowed yet.  I got ready and at 5:45am my road and driveway were still not plowed.  So what I had said to co-workers yesterday at work, that I may get stuck at home (today), came true.  I hate when that happens.  I don’t know what time the road got plowed, but my driveway didn’t get plowed, with all of it’s 15″, until 2:14pm.  I can bet my snow plow guy tried this morning but since my road wasn’t plowed, I’m sure he had lots of other places to plow.  So I worked from home today.  And I realize I don’t really like working from home.  I mean every once in a while it might be okay, but to have it forced on me is yucky.  I like going to work and I like interacting with my co-workers and (nice) patrons.

I was talking to a guy who worked at the Grand Canyon, and he told me that in the winter, psychologists need to go to help the Grand Canyon staff because it gets crazy lonely up there.  And I felt that way just a bit today.  Being *stuck* at home kind of made me wild.

Icicles hanging from an unheated garage?  Go figure:
DSCN1448

Full driveway, this morning, at about 12″:
DSCN1457

Yay, 2:14pm and snow plow guy shows up:
DSCN1463

Yay! Plowed driveway. I had to get rid of those dingle-berries near the garage, and they were very heavy!
DSCN1470

Snow is too heavy to move except where I need to walk on the deck:
DSCN1462

Snow is pretty on the trees and shrubs. I hope it isn’t too heavy for them:
DSCN1451

DSCN1461

It is still snowing. Good for downhill skiing, that’s for sure! Too bad I don’t ski anymore!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda in Erie
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 19:03:49

    The new snow really looks pretty. I don’t care what people say about SUVs, it is days like these that I’m glad I have my Explorer.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 19:44:12

    Hi Linda! I’m really not missing my SUV, because even with it, I wouldn’t have attempted to back up into the driveway this morning before it was plowed. The Ford Focus does really well on the snow. You can turn off traction control and it grips the road better in snow.

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 19:52:39

    That snow is pretty but I sure hope it’s done for you guys out east. I can understand about not liking forced confinement.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 19:54:40

    Lynne – we have another storm coming from the east. Yeah, I was really trying hard *not* to panic over the fact I was “stuck.”

    Reply

  5. Jayne
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 09:34:15

    Mercies, but I can’t even begin to imagine that much snow Pam! It would shut down my town for weeks!!! Ack! Stay warm!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 11:27:30

    Thanks Jayne! Staying warm, and looking forward to spring, for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

