Various Places from the week

Saturday night we went to the bottom of Pratt’s Falls.
DSCN2614

Saw these trees hanging on for dear life:
DSCN2613

I had gone a week earlier and taken photos from the top of the falls
DSCN2415

DSCN2418

Afterwards we went to a railroad crossing, where several trains passed, but I totally love the BNSF train horn, and I would love to have this horn for my car, or to blow when someone wakes me up out of a sound sleep by slamming cupboards at 2AM.  I’m working on how to get one. . .
DSCN2634

Please click here if video doesn’t show up, I still don’t know how to embed video from Flickr into WordPress.  I felt way too close to this train so I stopped the video, went behind my car, and continued.  Still felt too close, but I’m here to write about it.

We checked out Woodland Reservoir one evening:
DSCN2558

And yesterday I tried snorkeling at Sylvan Beach, but I couldn’t stand not having my nose to breath – this will take some getting used to, but we swam for about four hours – which was the best place to be given the heat. . . no pics because my camera doesn’t like swimming. Ended up with a bunch of bad scratches on the back of my right calf – thankfully not all from zebra mussels, but from rocks, even though I wore pants and fins.  (It sucks you just can’t swim with just a swimming suit anymore with these zebra mussels).  And then waaay too hot to carry the camera around with the strap on my neck, even though we went on the roller coaster and ate at the Canalview Cafe – I had their yummy hummus and pita.   There were lots of old photos and three-d objects inside.

And today my outside thermometer was reading 103 F at 1:30PM – crazy hot, and I wanna be back in the water today. . . will find some water to swim in again soon! For now, this is my favorite time of day when it is too hot outside:
DSCN2574

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 06:33:52

    Oh, those poor trees! Hanging on for dear life for sure. Man, but it’s been hot here too Pam. Love the train video… will have to remember to show it to Sam! :c)

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:18:18

    I feel so bad for the trees! I knew you would love the train video! I think of Sam whenever I go train sight-seeing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

