Scenes from the Week

Last week, as we all know, there was a beotch of a heat wave, and with the sun feeling like spikes driving themselves into your skin, we sought water and cool places.  We caught the tail end of a car show – there were some awesome cars there, but this one really caught my eye, a 1960 Thunderbird:

DSCN2650

And this is why it caught my eye – my Dad had one: (that’s me in my Mom’s hat)

1961_Pam_Aug_1961_0002

After walking around the car show, we jumped in the water for a night-time swim:

DSCN2648

The water was freakin’ hot! Hotter than bath water. So the next night we went to another, much cooler lake. And I wore the mask and am getting used to not being able to breathe through my nose, so I could see the remnants of the steamship The City of Syracuse, which was burned in 1917 and sunk. No pics, sorry.

We went to the Antique Truck Show, and quickly walked around since it was my lunch time:

DSCN2677

DSCN2696

DSCN2679

DSCN2681

There were lots more very cool looking trucks!

That night we went to Tinker Falls, where we used to go when I was a kid, and the last time I went was with my parents in 2006. It has greatly changed since I was a kid:

DSCN2700

DSCN2704

Not much in the way of water coming over the falls, and there were tons of mosquitoes and deer flies, so we won’t go back until those things go away (or bring lots of herbal bug spray).

Then we went for a swim in this water:

DSCN2722

Where there were ducks hanging on the edge eating:

DSCN2724

It was cool, refreshing, and nice to have the sun go down on a way too hot week:

DSCN2725

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 06:14:50

    Neat places to go and interesting things to see to beat the heat Pam!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

