What’s Wrong With These Photos?

Friday night we went snorkeling (swimming for me, I still haven’t mastered the snorkel yet) and after we were done my  friend got talking to a fisherman, so I went for a walk on the railroad tracks looking for date nails. I walked on one tie and it sunk down real low. I put it in the back of my head to tell my friend about it, and completely forgot about it.

DSCN2797
Notice the spike sticking up too far on the left.

Sunday night we were going to go to a far away place to snorkel and we were too exhausted, so we went to the same place we went to on Friday night. And that’s when my friend saw why the railroad tie sunk so low.


Yowsa! This rail is completely broken!

DSCN2795
Broken all of the way through!

DSCN2796
A derailment waiting to happen. So my friend called the dispatcher to report the problem and to recommend absolutely no trains run over this track until it is fixed.

DSCN2797
See about six feet of spikes on the right sticking up too far?

DSCN2799
Hopefully we’ve saved a train from possible derailment, and one of our favorite snorkeling spots will stay the same. Except what’s with the pig that left their garbage in the left of this photo?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 06:50:39

    Wow. Good that you all saw that and reported it Pam. A disaster waiting to happen for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

