Letchworth State Park

On Labor Day my Mom and I went to Letchworth State Park. It was cloudy and rainy all day, but we still had a great time. I didn’t get photos of everything we saw, but that’s okay. The middle falls was beautiful:
DSCN6315

We went into the museum, hoping the rain would stop.  It didn’t, but we saw some cool things in the museum.

I saw a copy of this amazing painting by Thomas Cole, of the Portage Falls and Hornby Lodge, 1841:
Thomas Cole - Portage Falls and Hornby Lodge, 1841

And a pencil sketch by Thomas Cole of Hornby Lodge, 1841:
Thomas Cole - Hornby Lodge, pencil sketch, 1841

I love Thomas Cole’s work, so I was happy!

Back outside, the mist was beautiful. Mind, we went from very hot temperatures over the weekend to in the 60’s F.
DSCN6322

For this next photo, my camera was flashing it’s red box as if to say “what is it you want me to focus on here?”
DSCN6325

I love this rock face:
DSCN6324

We needed to go back to Inspiration Point to see the falls from up high. We had a heard a train horn, but I didn’t know we would see the train on the Portage Bridge – one very scary bridge for a railroad engineer! You can see a previous post here on a train crossing over the bridge.

Here’s a close-up from far away:
DSCN6327

Not so close now:
DSCN6328

DSCN6329

DSCN6331

We stopped at the Gardeau overlook and tried to find the old sycamore, and talked about Mary Jemison:
DSCN6337

If I ever think I’m having a bad day, I’ll imagine being Mary Jemison, on the day she lost her entire family. Suddenly the day won’t be so brutal.

DSCN6336

Even though it was raining, it was still relaxing and refreshing to be at Letchworth.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 02:23:02

    Great place to see at least once in this lifetime. It must have been a magical time for you to have seen the sights. I envy you.

    Reply

  2. Marie
    Jun 20, 2013 @ 16:42:58

    Thank-you for the amazing trip threw your photos Marie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

