Into The Woods

Finally! I was able to get out into the woods yesterday afternoon after having spent all morning and early afternoon first working on my yard and then my Mom’s yard. And I was hoping, based on the past dates in my Newcomb’s Wildflower Guide that I would be able to find some of my favorite spring flowers in bloom. And we did! Yay!

We were so excited to spy some lovely little patches of Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis)

DSC03948_fc

DSC03947_fc
I *love* this flower. And in New York State this plant is listed as Exploitably Vulnerable 😦

And then we spied tons of Trout Lilies or Yellow Adder’s Tongue or Dogtooth Violet (Erythronium americanum) (don’t you love all of the common names).

DSC03976_fc
You can see the brown mottling on the leaves.

DSC03951_fc

And then another favorite of mine, Cut-leaved Toothwort or Pepperroot (Dentaria laciniata), and you can see where both the common name and latin names come from by this next photo:

DSC03953_fc

Here’s one with a white flower and a little bee pollinating it:

DSC03954_fc_crop

And one with pinkish flowers:

DSC03955_fc_crop

This next flower I know is a Hepatica (Hepatica nobilis), but I’m not sure whether it is a sharp-lobed or blunt-lobed since I didn’t look at the leaves (bad Pam).

DSC03958_fc

Another favorite of mine, and one of the 100 herbs I had to learn inside and out, Skunk Cabbage (Symplocarpus foetidus)

DSC03962_fc
I love the way the leaves come up (and don’t you love the way they poke right through the dried tree leaves)?

I love the leaves when they’re unfolded:
DSC03963_fc

And, of course, I have to show the coolest parts, the spathe and spadix (the spathe being the outer hood and the spadix the knob-shaped cluster inside of it).

DSC03964_fc

We also saw Marsh Marigolds or Cowslip (Caltha palustris) but it was too early for their blossoms:

DSC03973_fc
(sorry no closeups, I wasn’t prepared to go into the water, and I don’t really know how deep it is).

There’s a platform at the edge of the swamp that you can watch and listen to all kinds of birds. I accidentally flushed out a turkey, but didn’t capture a photo of it. Here’s last year’s cattails:

DSC03971_fc

And I spied some eyeballs, can you see them?

DSC03970_fc

Here’s a crop of this photo so you can see the eyeballs a little better:

DSC03970_fc_crop
There’s tons of frogs here.

We tried finding sunning turtles, but I guess we were too late in the day for them. We did see a couple of snakes, but I was only able to capture this Common Garter Snake (Thamnophis sirtalis):

DSC03961_fc
I love snakes! You can also see how profuse the Trout-Lilies are here, along with the Cut-Leaved Toothwort. And I love my new book The Amphibians and Reptiles of New York State because I don’t have to weed through a million species! (P.S. Mary, you’ve *got* to check out the cover of this book)!

Another one of my favorites, moss around the base of a tree in the swamp:
DSC03974_fc

And a burl. I would love to see the inside of it.
DSC03975_fc

And you know I can’t walk through the woods without photographing fungus:
DSC03957_fc

That’s basically it! Except for all of the tremendous sounds in the woods – the bird calls, peepers, etc. We couldn’t have picked a better day to go into the woods! I used to walk through these woods every day, and I miss them very much!

P.S. And for the record, it was 86 degrees F today. Yes, in April. Very unusual for this time of year.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 08:00:40

    Loved going on your walk with you and seeing all the lovely wildflowers and things!

    Reply

  2. Linda Martin
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 11:28:05

    What a great walk in the woods. I love how you know the names of everything!

    Reply

  3. Cis
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 11:32:42

    Your wild flowers or so different than our own on this side of the continent … amazingly different. Nice to see all your colour!

    Reply

  4. Liza Lee Miller
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 12:17:06

    What a fantastic day in the woods. I’m jealous!

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 20:16:49

    Beautiful pictures Pam! It is unseasonably warm here too and the wildflowers are popping out all at once. I hardly have enough time to keep up with what is new.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 20:54:38

    I am loving your pictures and isn’t this time of the year great to be walking around in the woods! Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 22:54:04

    I haven’t taken a good long walk in the woods in ages. Your post is getting me off my butt.

    Reply

  8. jason
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 18:53:22

    Delightful! I envy you your woods.

    Reply

  9. Rondi
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 21:46:11

    Amazing photos…and interesting commentary. The skunk cabbage spiking the dead leaf is cool =)

    Reply

  10. rvewong
    May 27, 2008 @ 23:44:56

    Another good walk in the woods with photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

