Warner Castle

I ended up going to Warner Castle, present home of the Rochester Civic Garden Center. Built in 1854, Warner Castle was designed by Horatio Gates Warner to resemble the ancestral castle of Clan Douglas which he saw on a trip to Scotland.

2007-02-17-002_sm

2007-02-17-011_sm

The entrance hallway was very bright. It has two portraits, one each of Mr. and Mrs. Warner. My photos didn’t turn out as good as I would have liked, so instead I give you a quick shot of the upper wall / ceiling.

2007-02-17-014_sm

Looking straight ahead I saw this staircase. I love stairs as you first enter a home.

2007-02-17-016_sm

I walked in and looked to the right and saw this beautiful wall.

2007-02-17-018_sm

The first big room to the right has this fireplace. Tables and chairs are in the way of getting a perfect shot of this.

2007-02-17-024_sm

A partial shot of this same room.

2007-02-17-028_sm

The walls are full of old photographs and paintings. The following is of George Ellwanger with his peony bed, rock garden, and large-leaf magnolia. Looking at this photo I can only imagine what it looked like in real life. I mean, look at all of those peonies! And the huge magnolia tree.

2007-02-17-025_sm

Here’s an example of the many paintings. This one is of Witch Hazel. Hamamelis virginica, Oct. 17/08 (October 17, 1908).

2007-02-17-030_sm

The wall leading up the stairs is gorgeous, too:

2007-02-17-036_sm

2007-02-17-038_sm

As is the wall in the upstairs hallway:

2007-02-17-040_sm

There is a library upstairs, and this was in one of the rooms. It is a “chromolithograph published in 1872 by James Vick. At that time Vick’s Seeds was probably the largest mail order seed seller in the world. This is one in a series of about 10 chromos of this size.”

2007-02-17-044_sm

Another gorgeous wall. It was such a sunny day it was hard to capture these walls!

2007-02-17-047_sm

I love mirrors – especially big old mirrors like this one, so these next few shots are of the mirror and the reflection. None of me reflecting back at ya though! I know how to get out of the way!

2007-02-17-050_sm

2007-02-17-051_sm

2007-02-17-052_sm

Did I mention I like staircases and banisters? I do! Especially ones that curve around like this:

2007-02-17-054_sm

And this:

2007-02-17-055_sm

Here’s the view down the stairs. I love the black and white floor below:

2007-02-17-053_sm

I’m back downstairs again, investigating the left side of the castle. Here’s another fireplace, with tables and chairs in the way again. Hmmm, glad to see this place is used!

2007-02-17-057_sm

I found this cute little circular nook in the same room:

2007-02-17-059_sm

2007-02-17-060_sm

I bought a couple of books on sale – a good one on shrub id. And while checking out had a great conversation with the lady checking me out about cameras since mine was still hanging around my neck, and then I left via the entrance with the Gate House, which faces Mt. Hope Ave.

2007-02-17-061_sm

The sun was perfect and it moved just enough to make it not perfect while I was playing with the settings on my camera. Okay, there’s one for shooting in auto mode.

2007-02-17-063_sm

And an archway of the gate house. I need to do some research to find out what these gate houses were for. If anybody knows, please feel free to comment!

2007-02-17-066_sm

It was interesting to tour this castle and to talk with pleasant people today! Oh, and can you find a bird in any of my photos above? There is one, maybe more! NOTE: My Flickr friends can go into Flickr and see large photos of all of the above to make it easier to find the bird!

P.S. I am curious to know more about this castle and the interior so I’ll be doing some research.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 21:42:18

    Pam, I wish I were with you today. I love curved staircases, too! The castle is so ornate and loaded with history and flair. I would have been snapping away, too. Flickr is acting up right now so I couldn’t enlarge your photos to see the bewds. Maybe tomorrow.

    Glad you got out for a tour of this majestic place instead of raking snow from your roof…

    So, what’s on the agenda for tomorrow? I’ll be cleaning house…again. I’ve been fooling around too much for the past few weekends and need to use some elbow grease now.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 22:21:15

    Mary, I wish you were with me, too. You would have liked it very much. It was fun trying to figure out which camera settings to use in the various locations with all of the light coming in.
    If you go to Flickr you’ll be able to find the birds by looking at my larger photos!
    Today I scrubbed while the photos were loading. Tomorrow is more cleaning and visiting my parents. I was thinking today that spring deep cleaning and cleanout is definitely in order soon.

    Reply

  3. dmmgmfm(Laurie)
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 22:30:15

    What a beautiful place! Your photos turned out great. I could spend all day exploring that place.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 22:35:50

    Laurie – thank you! I could have spent longer there, but the lady wanted to get going – even though they close at 2:30 PM – I guess it was a holiday weekend and they weren’t officialy open. I’ll be going back – especially for the gardens because they have a wonderful sunken garden.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 23:14:43

    Do I see birds in the mural going up the staircase?

    Oh, Pam, please don’t talk about spring cleaning. I still haven’t done my winter cleaning.
    If I could type in a Scottish brogue, I would try to say something clever.

    Reply

  6. Mon@rch
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 23:22:06

    Pam – such a stunning tour of this Warner Castle! I love all the colors that you captured in the inside of the Castle! It is amazing to see how everything is laid out and all those paintings on the walls! Looks like a great place to visit!

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 07:40:38

    What a wonderful place to explore. You had me at “Scotland” and images of the Outlander series popped into my head… love Diana Gabaldon. I’d love to visit there one day and explore places like this. Thanks for taking us along on your tour. :c)

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 09:55:57

    Susan – you got it! The bewds are hard to see on that wall but they’re there.
    Just combine the two cleanings into one and call it a day!
    Hmmm, I’d have to get out my Diana Gabaldon books to start typing in Scottish brogue – I can just hear Jamie talking with his deep voice in my head in his brogue when I read her books.

    Mon@rch – thanks! I love all of the walls there in the main hallways. It is a great place to visit. I mean how many castles are around that a person can just roam around inside and take all of the photos they want, right?

    Jayne – Ohhhhhh, I love Diana Gabaldon. In fact I’m making “A Breath of Snow and Ashes” last because I don’t want to wait so long for the next book in the series to come out. Those are books I can read and reread and never get sick of them and catch new things all of the time. Do you read her Lord John books, too? I do because I love the history of them, and her style of writing is so wonderful.
    Her books make me want to visit Scotland someday too. It’s on my wish list of places to visit.

    Reply

  9. Genevieve
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 16:05:36

    Great photos. What a beautiful place. I love going through places like this. Can you imagine living there?!

    Reply

  10. endment
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 16:44:38

    Thank you for a delightful tour!!!!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 19:49:05

    Genevieve – thank you! I would love to live in a place like this as long as I had a ton of money to maintain and heat it!

    Endment – you’re welcome!

    Reply

  12. jim
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 20:11:23

    Pam,
    Those are nice pictures you took. I enjoyed seeing the pictures on the walls, I can remember when that was comon to walk in a house and see a ( mural) I think that was what they are called – not sure . Those are something of the past. Its nice to see you can still go some where and enjoy them still. Keep up the good work of taking those pictures ,you have a talent for catching good photos. I always thought i was born too late to enjoy nicer things of the past.
    Well take more nice pictures soon.

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 21:14:48

    Jim – OMG I’m glad I’m sitting down or I’d fall over dead. I can’t believe you’re responding to my blog posts. I mean I’m really glad you are, thanks, it’s nice to have you back online! Woo Hoo!
    I remember you showing me the photos of your uncle’s house and I couldn’t believe the beautiful mural they had in the living room!
    In some ways it would have been nice to live in the days of our grandparents or earlier, but in many other ways it would totally stink. So you were born at just the right time IMHO.
    I’ll take more photos! Maybe you can join me sometime.

    Reply

  14. jayne
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 06:46:06

    Pam, I never could get into the Lord John books for some odd reason. I tried to make A Breath of Snow and Ashes last, but devoured it when it came out! Can’t wait for another installment!

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 09:01:50

    Jayne – I had a hard time getting into Lord John because I don’t really care for his character, but I like the history so decided to read them. ‘Brotherhood of the Blade’ is coming out for us later this year and it has Jamie in it, so I don’t want to miss it. Yeah, I think it’s going to be a while until the next Outlander installment, since she’s working on it but working on other books, too. I follow what she’s up to on the Literary Forum.

    Reply

  16. Debbie
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 18:39:31

    Hello – I work at the Rochester Civic Garden Center, which is housed in Warner Castle – as you know. This blog entry was just brought to our attention. Your photos are beautiful! We wonder if you would mind us putting a link to this blog post on either our blog or our web site.
    Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

