Comfrey

Comfrey (Symphytum officinale) flowers are really interesting, at least on the plants that I have. The flowers start out rose colored:

Comfrey

After the bees pollinate the flowers, they turn a light purple color:

Comfrey

The bees know not to return to these flowers. Borage (Borago officinalis) does the same thing! Comfrey and Borage are both in the Boraginaceae family. Comfrey grows aggressively. Here it is in my garden:

Comfrey

I don’t mind this is my garden, but not everyone feels this way. It’s great for putting in a rain barrel full of water to make comfrey tea to be used as fertilizer for the garden.

I came home just in time to see a Blue Jay taking a bath in one of the bird baths. Go Blue Jay!

I read something on someone’s blog yesterday on how to blog so people will want to read your blog.  It said not to blog about your cat.  I can see not blogging just about your cat, but including your cat in your blog with other things I think is really interesting.  I like to view blogs where people take photos of their cats, dogs, pets and other things related to nature.  Go figure.

P.S. I took these photos on May 30th – I saved them for a day when I didn’t feel like taking photos – even though there’s a lot of beautiful, interesting things to take photos of right now!

Leave a Reply

