Sonnenberg Gardens

We visited Sonnenberg Gardens & Manion State Historical Park in Canandaigua today, as we have done for the last 20+ years. Recently the State of New York Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation purchased the mansion and gardens. After having seen Sonnenberg decline over the years, it is good to see things are improving by being cleaned and repaired. I only wish they would work on preserving the very old trees, some of which are in decline there. However, we look forward to future improvements!

I have taken many photos of the place over the years, and I won’t show the typical photos now (of the mansion, gardens), but I will show some of the things I look forward to seeing when I go there. I love watching the ducks, especially when they dunk for food putting their butts straight up in the air and paddling with their feet:

26August2006-002c

I love watching ducks take baths (didn’t see one doing that today) and preening themselves:

26August2006-007c

I love the shape of the conservatory:

26August2006-013c

I love all of the old trees there, I picked this Purple Beech (Fagus sylvatica ‘atropurpurea’) to show you:

26August2006-017c

And here’s its huge trunk – I love the roots:

26August2006-024c

We saw two frogs in the Japanese Garden. One on a rock:

26August2006-027c

And one in an evergreen on the bank of the pond:

26August2006-029c

When I walked by this Hosta I smelled the most wonderful smell, so I had to capture a photo its beautiful flowers:

26August2006-047c

I finally captured a butterfly fully open in the Colonial Garden:

26August2006-050c

And I love ferns tucked into little places, and love all of the moss and lichens on the rocks in the rock garden:

26August2006-060c

We usually see at least one turtle, but today we didn’t see any around. Today was Arts in the Gardens, so we saw some phenomenal arts and crafts, too. All around, it was a great day!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 21:59:56

    Okay…wow, wow, wow and wow!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 27, 2006 @ 08:52:45

    Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Aug 27, 2006 @ 10:59:51

    What a lovely place! I especially like your photo of the base of the Beech tree- so neat! The ferns in the corners of the stone steps- BEAUTIFUL!!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 27, 2006 @ 20:07:13

    Hi Lynne, It is a wonderful place to visit. I’ve spent many wonderful hours there during my Plant Materials class.
    I’ve taken photos of my friends next to the base of the Beech tree so I can be reminded how huge it is!
    I love ferns, too! When I get a big chunk of time I’ll to post other interesting fern photos I’ve taken.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Sonnenberg Gardens « Nature Woman

Leave a Reply

