Memorial Art Gallery Quilt Show

Yesterday Mom and I went to the Memorial Art Gallery to see the quilt show. We walked in and immediately saw local quilters’ small art quilts inspired by some of the paintings and artwork of the Memorial Art Gallery! They were awesome, and although I have permission to photograph anything in the permanent collection, I wasn’t allowed to photograph the quilts. But, you can see one on the Memorial Art Gallery website here. The quilter/artist was inspired by Tiffany Studio’s Sunset Scene:

DSC03524

This part of the quilt show is called MAGnificent Inspiration: The Art Quilt. These lovely small art quilts were scattered throughout the entire museum. My three favorites were the one you see on the MAG website, one inspired by the painting Genesee Oaks by Asher Brown Durand:

DSC03519
This is one of my favorite paintings at the Memorial Art Gallery.

And the one inspired by the painting Waterloo Bridge, Veiled Sun by Claude Monet. Click here to see a photo of the painting. The art quilt inspired by this painting was gorgeous with beads throughout. (I love beads).

There is also a quilt exhibition called Wild by Design: Two Hundred Years of Innovation and Artistry in American Quilts which has some gorgeous old and contemporary quilts some of which you can see here. There is an accompanying book called Wild by Design: Two Hundred Years of Innovation and Artistry in American Quilts. On the cover of this book is one of the beautiful quilts we saw which looks much better in person. It is called Fireworks by Terrie Hancock Mangat.

Wild By Design

One of my favorite quilts in this exhibition is called My Crazy Dream by Mary M. Hernandred Ricard. I wish you could see it in person, it is a crazy quilt full of interesting details.

These exhibitions were much more than what I expected to see. If you’re in the area, I highly recommend going to the Memorial Art Gallery by March 16th to see all of these beautiful, inspiring quilts.

P.S. And thanks to the MAG for allowing me to do non-flash photography in their permanent collection!

8 thoughts on “Memorial Art Gallery Quilt Show

  1. We have an annual quilt show at our art gallery. A lot of quilting is done in our region with the strong Mennonite influence. Quilts like the one you show and others I have seen are fine art and their detail and beauty amazes me.

  2. You are so lucky to live near such a wonderful museum. I clicked though the Magnificent Inspiration quilts. Oh! The creativity. I had to chuckle at the one titled “I’m back” It’s one large morel mushroom. Ah! Harbinger of Spring.

    I’d love to see “Ancient Trinity” up close.

  3. What a great way to spend a day! I love quilt shows, and always come home inspired. Did seeing this show make you want to start a quilt?

  4. Quilts are so neat. I have a few antique ones that I treasure. I’ve seen some ads for quilt shows and the patterns they have are so beautiful. The artwork in your pictures looks stunning!

Leave a comment