Another Up-Tree Photo & Happy Winter Solstice!

This is one very very tall tree – I couldn’t even begin to tell you how tall. And I don’t know the DBH – this was before I knew how to measure the DBH but it is huge. I just remember I was standing at the base, and I held the camera straight up to take this photo. This is one of the many beautiful trees that I saw on vacation in August of 2004 in the Allegheny National Forest in Pennsylvania, not to be confused with the Allegany State Park over the border in New York.

ANF_018_08202004

Happy Winter Solstice! Even though I don’t care for the lack of sunlight this time of year, I am always glad to make it to this point because now we’ll be getting our sunlight back a little at a time! Yay!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 10:46:36

    Pam- I just love this picture! This probably sounds corny, but it makes me think of a seedling and what it sees and feels, tring to grow and reach that canopy, wanting to be a big tree.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 11:02:13

    Hi Lynne – Thank you! It’s not corny at all! It amazes me how old some “seedlings” are, waiting for one or more of their old neighbors to die so they can get some light and grow!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 17:41:16

    I guess that is a big tree! We don’t have many like that left in Maine. The best went for shipbuilding and log drives.

    happy solstice to you, too!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 20:05:44

    Thanks Sandy! It’s too bad that big old trees like this aren’t around everywhere for everyone to enjoy. I love old growth forests.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 22:51:11

    My Mom still has a few “old-timers” on her land. The 14 acres of forest hasn’t been touched (except for my brother getting fire wood) for over 50 years.
    I love your up tree photos!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 09:30:52

    Susan – Wow – that’s nice she still has some oldies – I love big old trees – as if you couldn’t tell!

    Reply

  7. Mon@rch
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 21:17:18

    Happy Winter Solstice to you and Happy Holidays! This one is just as nice as my fave place in the world – Allegany State Park!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 21:39:48

    Thank you Mon@rch! I love Allegany State Park, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

