International Rock Flipping Day

Okay, I didn’t realize there were some rules for international rock flipping day until I started this post, but I did spend part of my day flipping rocks where my older brother and I used to spend hours when we were kids, in LaFayette, NY. I wasn’t disappointed. There were tons of fossils! What, you were expecting me to go out and try to find insects under rocks? Well, I did that, too, but there wasn’t anything too exciting going on under the big rocks I flipped. And for these fossils, I didn’t really”flip” rocks, I peeled rocks carefully back in layers to find the fossils.  Update:  Here’s a link to my I Love Fossils post I wrote last year.

2007-09-02 DSC02018

I didn’t flip or peel any rocks back to find these next fossils, but I had to take photos of them anyway!

2007-09-02 DSC02019

2007-09-02 DSC02021 crop

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Bonta
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 21:25:21

    Fossils are cool. We never meant to imply that folks couldn’t post about fossils! Thanks for participating in IRFD.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 21:30:06

    Dave – They are cool! People who know me know I wouldn’t go purposely looking for insects because I try to keep my distance from them!

    Reply

  3. mary
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 22:01:16

    You found more than I because I forgot to flip. I don’t even know what day it is…

    I’ll flip tomorrow, just for the fun of it.

    Reply

  4. Rose Connors
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 22:56:16

    Beautiful fossils!

    Reply

  5. marjaleena
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 23:06:52

    Love these rocks! Some of those fossils look like they might have been alive UNDER rocks one time.

    Reply

  6. dinahmow
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 23:31:31

    No fossils close to home, but,as the eagle flies, I’m not so very far from Muttaburra. Lovely photos.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 05:56:34

    Mary – I almost forgot to flip! Can’t wait to see what you find under your rocks!

    Rose – Thank you!

    Marjaleena – Thank you! Me too! I added a link to my post above to a post I wrote last year about fossils in this area. This whole area was under water at one time, so the fossils here are from fish and other water creatures.

    Dinahmow – Thank you! I don’t find many fossils where I’m living now, but it’s always fun to go back home and flip a rock and find a dozen fossils! I just looked up Muttaburra – cool – and I’m headed over to your blog because I’m fascinated with Australia!

    Reply

  8. Ruth
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 09:20:53

    Fossils are what I would hope to find under rocks. After Dave posted his warnings about snakes and spiders, I decided to leave the rocks alone…not that we have poisonous ones here. I loved looking for fossils as a child. There were lots of them in the Toronto area.

    Reply

  9. toni
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 09:52:26

    I think I would rather find fossils than insects. Your post gave me an idea that perhaps I should do some nature rubbing’s of fossils.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Via Negativa » Blog Archive » IRFD 2: Halls of the mountain millipede
  11. James
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 12:35:05

    Yep i did some rock flipping a year a go with Rob (Bug Man) and Bruce (Plant Man ). I think I still have the fossil books we used. We spent three days in different areas around east side of Canandaigua Lake. The area we went to dated back thirty, forty thousand years. People look for these things for a living BIG $$$$$$ In finding some of these fossils, on the first day we found a rare fossil that Bug Man took back with him. Well I have to go but to let you know that those are nice pictures . If I go there again I’ll take some pictures for you.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 13:53:48

    Ruth – Fossils are mostly what I found under rocks at home! Pill bugs and stinky flying ants were big there, too. I’ve never seen a snake under a rock, but I wouldn’t be afraid here, either. Glad you enjoyed looking for fossils as a child, too! They’re so cool.

    Toni – Me too! I’d love to see your fossil rubbings.

    James – well, lookie who decided to finally sit his butt down and write me a comment!! LOL!! Thanks for the comment, by the way. I loved going out in the woods with bugman and plantman – two of the biggest characters around! Yeah, aren’t you a freakin’ stitch “If I go there again I’ll take some pictures for you.” If you go by yourself, hmmmm!
    P.S. to anyone who reads my response to Jim’s comment – he and I are very good friends!

    Reply

  13. mon@rch
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 20:49:56

    I have never heard of such a holiday and sounds like a good one for sure! Love your fossil shots!

    Reply

  14. Cathy
    Sep 04, 2007 @ 14:17:25

    Oh Pam – Those are so cooool. Lucky, lucky you! I think I’d have to dig down a mile here in NW Ohio to get near rock. We are sandy, sandy, sandy.

    Hmmmm . . . though I guess there’s a quarry just west of us with tons of trilobites. But with liability issues – NO ONE is allowed in. Now that really . . . . . stinks.

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 16:25:15

    Mon@rch – I think it’s new! Thanks!

    Cathy – Thank you! Oh yeah, come to NY and you’ll get frustrated just trying to dig a hole because there’s so many rocks. That’s too bad you can’t get into the quarry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

