Chock Today Up As A Weird Day

So it’s abnormally hot (in the 90’s) and humid and the air is full of nasty smelling pollution and sneeze-inducing pollen here today. We’ve had only 3.5 inches of rain ALL summer. Want proof? Here you go. I haven’t emptied my rain gauge all summer.

DSC02105 crop

I got a phone call from my Mother at 8:10 this morning (automatically my heart starts racing as in “what is wrong that my Mother is calling me at work?”). The power was out all over west of the city, and she didn’t want me to worry if the security company called (I’m the back-up person to be called). Phew. Glad it was just that.

So we’re working away at work, getting a lot done, and the CEO comes into the building. No biggy, we just keep working. All of a sudden the electricity goes out. You know that dreaded, icky, noise when computers, servers and scanners hard down. The clicking noise, I hate the clicking noise when you hard down any electronics. You don’t want to hear it. You hope the electronics can handle the hard down.

And you work on powering everything back up, hope you didn’t lose your work, and bam! It happens again. So you repeat! And bam! It happens again. We’re 20 minutes away from end of shift, and we all said screw-it! Even with the CEO there. That can’t be good for the equipment. Fortunately the time clock was working so I got out of there on time. But the CEO wanted to talk to my manager. I hope that isn’t a bad thing. Last time I saw that happen the manager was fired.

As I’m driving home, I’m getting really weird vibes about doing anything else but going home, even though I wanted to go to the gym and return some library stuff that is due today. So I went home, went to get my mail and it hasn’t come yet – which is abnormal because it usually comes at 1:00. Something is totally off with everything today.

So here I am home, windows closed, fan on (I don’t do AC), working on my computer and hoping my electricity doesn’t go out. And my weird vibes have gone away. So it’s better to just be home tonight, reading a good book (hopefully, if the electricity stays on)!

Is it weird where you are today?

P.S. If you don’t understand about the vibes thing, don’t worry about it. I know some people have them, and some don’t!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 17:31:07

    Oh yeah – I know EXACTLY what you mean. Some days just feel ‘off’. Hope tomorrow brings contentment and good vibes :0)

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 17:58:36

    No, not weird, just plain hot here today. Thank goodness the darkness comes earlier now, at 6 pm, it is starting to cool off.
    I worked out in the garden this morning, and soon realized that was a dumb idea.

    I hope you don’t lose power tonight. Just lose yourself in a good book!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 20:41:40

    Cathy – Oh good, sometimes I just think it’s me that feels good and bad vibes in the air. Tomorrow will be better!

    Sandy – I know, I was glad to have it get dark so I could open the windows and let the cool air blow in. So far the power is okay! Hope it stays that way now that it’s dark out.

    Reply

  4. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 22:09:17

    I’ve always found for me it’s best to listen to my intuition. I get a bit of peace of mind if nothing else. I hope the “hinkies” go away tomorrow! There’s a cool front here in Minnesota- I hope it makes it’s way to you!

    Reply

  5. Nina
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 22:30:21

    I’m reading a good book, too–about the only thing I can do until the heat passes. I hope you get rain soon. This dryness is very discouraging.

    Reply

  6. lizalee
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 22:57:46

    I get vibes too. And, no, it wasn’t weird here today, thank goodness! 🙂 Glad your vibes went away — I think you did the right thing. Oh, and we are finally cool and comfortable here, too. Yay!

    Reply

  7. Sherry
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 00:13:33

    Your area is on my list of places that really need real rain!
    I have the chant going for you…
    I too follow my “gut” and if it feels weird than it feels weird.
    Hope you are able to relax this weekend and may cool wind blow in some rain.
    Sherry

    Reply

  8. The Birdfreak Team
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 00:31:41

    It’s always weird in our part of the world…we have had more rain this summer than we have had in two or three put together! I wish we could have shared some with you!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 10:31:47

    Lynne – I shut my intuition down ten years ago when I felt the death of some loved ones about to happen, and then my two aunts died in a car accident. But now I’m allowing it to come back and listening to it. Hopefully the “hinkies” are gone when I go out today! Ohhhh, please send the cool front this way!

    Nina – What book are you reading? I just finished “Into the Wilderness” by Sara Donati and now reading a book by Diana Gabaldon. After I read Susan Wittig Albert’s book, I’ll go back to the Donati series.

    Lizalee – Glad it wasn’t weird where you are yesterday! And that you’re finally cool and comfortable!

    Sherry – Oh yeah, we are seriously behind on rain. The trees and plants are really showing it. Some trees are so stressed the leaves are turning and dropping their leaves early. I would love it to rain gentle for a few days!

    The Birdfreak Team – Sorry to hear about too much rain in your area. I wish the rain would distribute itself evenly between us!

    Reply

  10. mon@rch
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 13:11:25

    Was hot but an alright day for me and how crazy all that happened with you! WOW! Things can happen thats not your fault! Glad you decided to stay home, first instincts are everything!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 14:11:04

    Mon@rch – Yeah, the grid couldn’t take everyone using so much ac, I guess, so they shut it down in areas. Glad it’s cooler today – it feels much better! I’ve got to get movies on my iPod so in case the electricity goes out at night, I could still watch a movie!

    Reply

  12. mary
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 08:42:55

    Pam, I could not survive without A/C.

    Your day was definitely a weird one. Whenever the electric goes off at work, we hang around for a while…strange feeling.

    I hope your power stays on so you can feel normal at home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

